He Listens (Chapter 10)

Posted by

SERIES SUMMARY:  Kayla is on a quest to move beyond the hurt of her past as she realizes the impact that hurt has on her present and potential future. This is a modern tale of love that accounts the complexities of blending the lives of two thirty-somethings and all of their respective baggage.   Read to see if Kayla will finally share her secret, embrace something new, and most importantly exercise her faith.


..Continued – 

“Repeating over and over again in her head, “I can’t go back there,” Kayla dips down the hallway to take a breather on the back porch.  She needed a minute to regroup.  But as she turns down the hallway she runs right into his chest.

“I remember the last time you kissed my chest.”

“Really, I don’t.”

“What?”

“I said, I don’t remember the last time I kissed your chest.”

“Kayla, is something wrong?”

“Why would you ask that?”

“Are you mad at me?”

“Do I have a reason to be?”

“Look, I don’t know where this is coming from but I don’t want to fight Kayla, I was hoping to spend some time with you while I’m here.”

“You were hoping that you could sleep with me while you were here.”

“Dang, is that all we do.”

“Apparently, since I don’t hear from you until you’re ready to talk.”

“Kay, I’ve called you a couple of times lately.”

“What?”

“Yeah, I called you a couple times last month.”

“I never got that call or any message.”

“I never left one.  You know that I don’t do messages, oh, and I got a new number.”

“That was you calling me from that 381 area code?  How in the hell was I supposed to know that that was you?”

“You knew that was me.  Who else would it be?”

“Are you serious Andre?  Do you really believe that or are you just saying it?”

Kayla lets out a frustrated laugh as she shakes her head and starts to walk away.

“Wait a minute, Kay, don’t walk away, come in here, can we talk for a minute?”

They enter a spare bedroom at the end of the hall, close the door and sit on the edge of the bed.

“I didn’t know that you were feeling like this.  You know that I love you Kayla, I always will.”

“You loved me once Dre, but that was last lifetime.  I can’t live there.  I know that you care about me, but it’s not the same.  I was still very much in love with you.  You moved away and moved on.  I stayed here and held on, to the nostalgia of what used to be and could have been.”

At this point it is painfully obvious that a conversation years in the making is about to happen.  And with this realization, Kayla lowers her head and wonders in silence, what happens when a weakened heart exhales.

“Kayla, it’s not like that, I love you.  You are probably the only women that I ever really loved.  How can you not know that?  How can you think that what we do is just physical or for play, really Kay…how can you feel that way about me and you?  You pulled away from me Kayla.  It’s not like you were blowing my phone up.  How many times did you come to see me, huh?  Every time we talked and every time we were together it meant something to me Kay.  When I first got there, I was lost, missing you, missing home, my family – everything.  To be honest, I was scared.  I didn’t know nobody or nothing about living in New York.  Okay maybe I could have called more often, and I was wrong for taking so long to get at you after my last visit, but you were sending me mixed messages for real.  Do you remember that?  One minute we were in love and next I couldn’t even get you on the phone.”

To be continued…

© LaRonda Moore

*** He Listens Series Homepage.

12 comments

Leave a Reply

