He Listens (Chapter 12)

SERIES SUMMARY:  Kayla is on a quest to move beyond the hurt of her past as she realizes the impact that hurt has on her present and potential future. This is a modern tale of love that accounts the complexities of blending the lives of two thirty-somethings and all of their respective baggage.   Read to see if Kayla will finally share her secret, embrace something new, and most importantly exercise her faith.


..Continued – 

Dre pulls away from Kayla.

“Wait, wait, don’t just walk away, talk to me.  You don’t know the whole story.”

“I know you kept my baby from me.”

“It’s a little more complicated than that don’t you think.”

“Not really, you had too many opportunities to tell me Kayla, before and after.  I can’t forgive this.”

“I’m sorry Dre, but after all this time, I’m tired of carrying this and I’m tired of letting you hurt me.”

“Hurt you?”

“Yes, that’s what you do every time you go absent as if I’m not alive, you hurt me!”

“So you never told me, as pay back?”

“No, what are you talking about?  Let me give you the abridged version.  We were madly in love when you told me about your scholarship, and I was five weeks pregnant when you got on a plane and moved to New York.  I had just found out a few days earlier.  Your ticket was already purchased Dre.  The day you left was my first hospitalization.  When I got home from the airport, I started to cramp and bleed.  The doctors put me on bed-rest and for a couple of weeks everything was okay.  During that time, I nurtured our baby.  I loved him.  Then, my mother and Karah found out.  You know it was only so long that I would be able to keep it from them.  They convinced me to tell you and I was going to, but each time, I either lost my courage or the moment wasn’t right.  The second hospitalization was more severe than the first.  I actually lost consciousness at one point and when I awoke, he was gone. I’ve never felt pain like that, and I’m talking about the physical.  I was left empty literally and figuratively.  It changed me Dre.  And it took a while for me to come around.  In all that time, I was consumed with what was happening to me.  I never even considered what I was doing to you.”

Andre is overwhelmed.  He stands with his arms to his sides and his head slightly lowered.  “I had no idea that you went through all of that.  I don’t even know what to say.  I don’t even know who to be sad for.  I just know that I am.  Today is not the day, but one day.  Promise me you’ll share the unabridged version.  Promise me that you tell me the whole story – all of it Kay.  Are you fine, like physically and everything?”

“I am.  Thank you for caring.”

“Always.”

“When you left, all I wanted was for you to come back.  I really did plan to tell you, several times I tried…then after he was gone, I figured what was the point.  Time has taken its course Andre.  I couldn’t fix what had happened to us, I could feel us tearing apart but it was nothing I could do about it.  I don’t understand your type of love, the kind that can go absent for extended amounts of time.  Don’t get me wrong Andre, I do acknowledge my role in this, this is a conversation that should have taken place years ago.  But since the first hurt, whether it was intentionally or not, my heart aches when I think of you.  If it was intentional, that makes you an asshole and if I continue to allow you to hurt me that will make me one, regardless of your intent.”

To be continued…

© LaRonda Moore

*** He Listens Series Homepage.

8 thoughts on “He Listens (Chapter 12)

  1. “I don’t understand your type of love, the kind that can go absent for extended amounts of time….. If it was intentional, that makes you an asshole and if I continue to allow you to hurt me that will make me one, regardless of your intent.” Here’s the riot act, Kayla. You just go on and read the whole thing to him. Yep. 😆

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

