Lesson Learned: Never Say Never

When I was younger, I had my mind made up about most things.  My opinions were fixed and I thought that I had constructed what I believed to be an informed, mature, and well-rounded perspective on life.

I was wrong.

As I quickly approach forty and reflect back to my twenty year old self, I realize that despite my control freak desire to live a life in black and white, I live my life in the grey. We all do.  And the funny thing about life is that the more you live, the more you experience, and experience is the greatest teacher.

Now, having said that.  I am not suggesting that you release your convictions or forget about your values.  These are the things that govern our life.

I am simply saying:  understand that what may seem like a “never” at twenty-two, probably won’t at thirty-two.

Leave a Reply

