He Listens (Chapter 18)

SERIES SUMMARY:  Kayla is on a quest to move beyond the hurt of her past as she realizes the impact that hurt has on her present and potential future. This is a modern tale of love that accounts the complexities of blending the lives of two thirty-somethings and all of their respective baggage.   Read to see if Kayla will finally share her secret, embrace something new, and most importantly exercise her faith.


..Continued – 

“What’s this?”

“An invitation.”

“To what?”

“Andre’s gallery opening.  It’s in three weeks.”

Kayla has told Kareem all about Andre.  As matter fact, Kareem probably knows things about Kayla and Andre’s relationship that Andre doesn’t even know.

“Are you thinking about going?” Kareem asks in a disapproving tone.

“I don’t know.”

“What will make up your mind?”

“I don’t know.”

“Do you still have feeling for him?”

Flustered she walks to the window to put some space between them.  “I don’t know.  I thought I did, then, I thought I didn’t.  A part of me believes that I always will and should.  I don’t know.  But I do know that if I go, it wouldn’t be to be his weekend guest or his date for the event.”

“Then why go at all?” Kareem replied.

“Because once upon a time, when I thought this was just a dream of his, I said I would.  Because he needs to know that while I’m happy for him, I am fine without him.”

The look in Kayla’s eyes is melancholy.   “I don’t expect you to understand or even be okay with it.  I just want to be honest with my feelings.  You asked me and I wanted to answer you honestly, because I know what holding secrets can do to a relationship and I don’t want that for us.”

“I appreciate that Kay, but I don’t want you to go.  I know that you are a grown women, and don’t need my permission to get on a plane and go anywhere, but I have to be honest with my feelings too.  I don’t want you to go.”

They stare at each other in awkward silence.  Then Kayla speaks, “You know I over think everything Kareem.  In reality, I probably won’t go, because in my head it will mean something completely different than it will in his.  You know men and women speak different languages.”

They both manage to muster up a laugh, and Kareem rubs her arm to ease his displeasure.  Kayla can tell that he’s not feeling the whole trip to New York thing, and in an effort to diffuse the situation, she excuses herself to the restroom.  Kayla might be stubborn but she’s not dumb, and no way is she willing to let her past with Andre negatively impact her potential future with Kareem. She looks in the mirror and state, “Sometimes, honesty is not the best policy.”

Returning to the living room, she hopes that the awkwardness has subsided.  “Did you miss me?” she asks.

“Absolutely,” he replies and after a deep breath he turns to face her.  “Well, I said my peace Kayla and I’m going to leave it alone.  I trust you, and I believe in us, that’s enough for now.  Besides, we need to talk about the real issue here.  Who knew that Karah was a thug?  She can over my house with a car full cousins and a bat.  I didn’t that little Karah got down like that!”

They both crack up laughing and it eases the mood.

“Today was crazy Kareem.”

“Yeah, it was.”

“Your family hates me.”

“No they don’t, they don’t even know you.  Besides, Jordan thinks your pretty, and that’s all that really matters, isn’t it?”

“Kareem, this isn’t funny, first impressions last.”

“You’re not the one who made a fool of herself today, Monique is.  My family saw how you handled her ignorance.”  He stops talking for a second and takes a long look at Kayla.  “Come here baby.”  He pulls her over to him and re-positions a piece of her bang that is always hanging in her eye.

“Kayla, I know today was crazy but in a way I’m kind of happy that it happened.”

“Kareem, why would you say that?”

“Because it helped me realize that I am completely in love with you.”

That declaration catches Kayla by surprise and it makes her blush.  She is speechless, just sitting there with a childlike grin on her face.

To be continued…

© LaRonda Moore

*** He Listens Series Homepage.

18 thoughts on “He Listens (Chapter 18)

    1. No way you weren’t sweating bullets after the first 30% of the post hahahaaha! I thought he was going to get all controlling and crazy, but he recovered super well when Kayla was honest and understanding about his concerns, something she learned from Andre. Breakups are rebirth to love in a new form. #TeamAndre though!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

